More than one method

What is it about technology and technically perfect photos that appeals to people in general and photographers more specifically? We already know that in many ways technology is a big distraction. Is there truth in technically perfect photos? I throw these questions out there because I have become disillusioned with the idea that a photograph can replicate reality or even that that’s what I’d like it to do. Recently I was giving a photo tour in Dumbo and taking photos that I’ve photographed so many times before and I decided then and there that I was going to do it differently. I have a photo that I did a number of years ago there that is more a “realistic” photo. Whatever that means. I think a photograph should reflect the photographer. And when a photo does that it doesn’t really matter if it is a truer representation or a more creative view of the place. Photography is always personal. Photos from 15 April 2017 and 4 December 2010.

Leave a comment